International Press Freedom Awards: Honoring courage in defiance of censorship

Winners from Bahrain, Belarus, Mexico, and PakistanNew York, October 4, 2011-Four outstanding journalists who have endured and defied media repression in Bahrain, Belarus, Mexico, and Pakistan will be honored with the Committee to Protect Journalists’ 2011 International Press Freedom Awards, an annual recognition of courageous journalism.

The awardees-Mansoor al-Jamri (Al-Wasat, Bahrain), Natalya Radina (Charter 97, Belarus), Javier Arturo Valdez Cárdenas
(Ríodoce, Mexico), and Umar Cheema (The News, Pakistan)-have faced recrimination for their work, including harassment, assault, kidnapping, torture, and censorship.

“We are proud to honor these journalists, whose tenacious reporting continues in defiance of severe censorship tactics
meant to silence inconvenient truths,” said CPJ Executive Director Joel Simon. “By resisting threats and abuse, these journalists give voice to daily realities in their countries and secure our universal right to receive independent, reliable information.”

CPJ will honor television anchor and reporter  Dan Rather with its Burton Benjamin Memorial Award for lifetime  chievement in defending press freedom. Editor Eynulla Fatullayev, who was honored in 2009 while still imprisoned in Azerbaijan, will receive his award after being released this year following intensive international advocacy.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s